what is SDLC ? explain me in detail

what is SDLC ? explain me in detail

Postby rao-h2kinfosys » Wed May 02, 2012 11:48 pm

Software Development life cycle is a process of building an application through different phases. Here The phases are 5 types, they are: - Requirement Analysis, Design, Coding, Testing and Maintenance.

Analysis: Here the Company level people and Client or Customer side people will participate in a meeting called Kickoff meeting. The Client provides the information and The Company side people (Business Analyst will participate to gather the information from the client. The Business Analyst who is well in Domain Skills, Technical Skills and Functionality Skills.

By the Gathered information the Business Analyst will prepare the BRS Document which is also called as Business Requirement Specification. Then later the same document is also called as FRD document. That's Functional Requirement Document.

Project Manager will prepare SRS Document i.e: System Requirement Specification Document.

Test Lead will prepare the Test Plan Document.

Later all these documents are verified by Quality Analyst. Here the quality Analyst will check the gaps or loopholes in between the document to map the client Specification document and Business Requirement Specification Document.

Again Business Analyst will involve to prepare the Use Case Document and later these all documents are maintained as baseline Document, The Base line Document which is called called as Stable document.
Output: Here the Analysis output is BRS, SRS, FRS, Use case and Test plan Documents

To manage the various phases of software development and to enable programmers, testers and users to work together on complex and big projects; various software development life cycles have been created.
The most common used software models are:
• Waterfall.
• Spiral.
• Prototyping.

The oldest and the most commonly used of these software models is the waterfall model. It describes a development method that is both linear and sequential. The major stages included in this model are as follows
• Requirement Analysis.
• Specification.
• Coding.
• Verification and validation.
• Implementation/installation.
• Maintenance and support.
Waterfall model should not be used when rapid development is required. For this purpose spiral model has been introduced which is more risk reduction oriented. The various phases of spiral model are as follows
1. Identify objectives and constraints.
2. Identify risks and ways to and resolve them.
3. Evaluate the various alternatives.
4. develop and verify various alternatives.
5. Plan the next iteration.
6. Decide an approach for the next iteration.

This a very complex software model and should be followed by a knowledgeable management.
Prototyping using incremental approach in all the phases of software development such as requirement gathering etc. these are then analyzed by the end user, their response results in next iteration
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:27 pm

Return to ETL - Data warehousing Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest